WASHINGTON · UTILITY

Avista tree trimming near power lines

Avista keeps a 10 ft clearance around its distribution and transmission lines on a five-year trim cycle, at no cost to you. It does not prune around the service wire from the pole to your house; Avista says that is the homeowner’s responsibility, and it will drop the wire free of charge on three business days’ notice so a crew can work.

Rules checked 2026-10-02 · Sources at the end

Where Avista trims

Avista Utilities provides electricity to about 418,000 customers across 30,000 square miles in four northwestern states, and its Washington territory centers on the Spokane region; its planting brochure points customers to the City of Spokane’s approved street-tree list. Avista’s pages do not list the Washington counties it serves (not stated), so go by the name on your electric bill. Inland Power & Light, also based in Spokane, is a separate co-op with its own program, and Pacific Power serves Yakima and Walla Walla; the utilities index sorts out which is which.

What Avista trims and how often

Avista prunes vegetation around its transmission and distribution lines and addresses any tree encroaching on a 10 ft clearance of those lines. The program runs on a five-year trim cycle, and Avista notes that some fast-growing trees get revisited sooner. It does not trim around telecommunications, cable TV or telephone equipment on its poles, and it does not prune around the service wire.

Routine pruning is done at no cost to you. Trimmed branches are chipped on site and left for the property owner; where Avista removes a risk tree, the wood is left as it falls, with no clean-up, and you may keep it. Avista also runs a Safe Tree program: it assesses trees for removal and replacement, its tree contractor does the removal if you agree, and you can choose low-growing replacements. Only the landowner can apply, and Avista says it will make contact within six weeks for eligible properties.

A climber on a rope near the top of a tall, slender pine with a small crown, against a blue sky with clouds
A climber roped in near the top of a tall pine. Photo: Jimmy Nilsson Masth / Unsplash

Clearance distance

The published figure is a 10 ft clearance of Avista’s distribution and transmission lines. Avista does not break that down by voltage or by species growth rate (not stated).

  • Distribution and transmission lines: 10 ft clearance (Avista)
  • Trim cycle: five years, sooner for fast growers
  • Service wire, cable and phone lines: not pruned by Avista

The service wire to your house

Avista’s statement leaves no room for doubt: it does not prune vegetation around the service wire that runs from a nearby pole to a home or business, and maintaining and pruning vegetation that has grown into or is encroaching on that wire is the homeowner’s responsibility. The pruning, the crew and the haul-away are yours.

What Avista will do, at no charge, is disconnect the service drop so the work can be done safely. Service drops are available Monday through Friday between 8 a.m. and 3 p.m., and you need to call (800) 227-9187 at least three business days ahead. Book the drop first, then the crew; our tree removal near power lines page covers how that job is sequenced.

How to request trimming

Avista uses one number for everything: (800) 227-9187 for tree requests, service-drop scheduling, outages and downed lines. Avista does not publish a response-time target for routine requests (not stated). Trees that are not near a line are ordinary tree trimming; the tree trimming cost page has modeled Washington ranges, including the Spokane labor index.

NeedContactNotes
Tree near an Avista line(800) 227-9187No cost for pruning near Avista lines
Service-drop disconnect(800) 227-9187Mon–Fri 8 a.m.–3 p.m.; 3 business days’ notice; free
Outage or downed line(800) 227-9187Same number
Fire, injury, line on a vehicle911Then Avista
Safe Tree program (removal and replacement)Application on the wildfire resiliency page (source 2) · wildfire@avistacorp.comLandowners only; contact within 6 weeks

A tree touching a line right now

Treat the tree and the ground around it as energized. Keep people and pets back, do not let anyone cut, pull or push it, and call (800) 227-9187. If the wire is on the ground, on a vehicle, or there is fire or an injury, call 911 first. Avista’s page does not give a stay-back distance (not stated); Washington utilities that do say 30 ft, and that is a reasonable floor.

A crew can start only after Avista has de-energized or cleared the line. What happens after that, including a tree on the house, is on our emergency tree service page.

Who may work within 10 ft of a line

Washington’s electrical safety rules keep unqualified people, and anything they are holding, at least 10 ft from unguarded overhead lines carrying up to 50 kV, with more distance above that (WAC 296-24-960(6)). Pruning or felling inside that zone is line-clearance tree trimming, reserved for trained line-clearance tree trimmers (WAC 296-45-035), working in pairs within voice range when closer than 10 ft to a conductor over 600 V (WAC 296-45-455).

A Spokane Valley or Pullman tree service can take down everything outside that zone; the part inside it waits for Avista or a line-clearance contractor. Check the company’s L&I registration first with our Washington tree service license lookup guide.

Planting under Avista lines

Avista’s Right Tree Right Place brochure uses three zones. In the small-tree zone under lines, plant trees and shrubs that stay under 25 ft; Avista’s examples are flowering dogwoods (pagoda, kousa and Cornelian cherry), crab apples and redbuds, with a longer power-line-compatible list in a separate PDF. In the medium zone, up to 50 ft from a pole or line, mature trees should stay under 40 ft; anything taller at maturity belongs at least 50 ft away. Keep 10 ft clear in front of a pad-mounted transformer and 2 ft on the sides and back.

Sources

  1. Avista, Tree pruning (10 ft clearance, five-year cycle, service wire is the homeowner’s responsibility, free service drop with 3 business days’ notice, chips and wood, Safe Tree, (800) 227-9187), checked 2026-10-02.
  2. Avista, Wildfire resiliency (Safe Tree application, landowner eligibility, six-week contact, wildfire@avistacorp.com), checked 2026-10-02.
  3. Avista, Right Tree Right Place brochure (PDF: zones, 25 ft and 40 ft limits, 50 ft, transformer clearances, species, Spokane street-tree list), checked 2026-10-02.
  4. Avista, Power-line compatible trees (PDF list), checked 2026-10-02.
  5. Avista Corp. investor site (418,000 electric customers, 30,000 square miles, four states), checked 2026-10-02.
  6. Inland Power & Light, Right-of-way clearing (separate Spokane-based co-op), checked 2026-10-02.
  7. Pacific Power, Service area map (PDF: Yakima, Walla Walla), checked 2026-10-02.
  8. WAC 296-24-960, Working near energized lines (10 ft for unqualified persons), checked 2026-10-02.
  9. WAC 296-45-455, Line-clearance tree trimming (definition in WAC 296-45-035), checked 2026-10-02.
  10. Snohomish County PUD, Outage center (30 ft stay-back distance cited as the regional norm), checked 2026-10-02.

Comparing quotes? Check these eight things first.

Two quotes for the same tree can differ by thousands. The gap is usually in what's included, not the cutting.

01A current certificate of liability insurance, sent by the insurer
02A state license you looked up yourself: Oregon CCB or LCB, Washington L&I
03Who is on site: an ISA Certified Arborist, or a crew lead with years on the job
04Haul-away, chipping and cleanup written in, not assumed
05The stump: ground, left, or priced as a separate line
06Who pulls the city permit, and whether the fee is in the price
07What happens if a fence, roof or lawn gets damaged
08Your written approval before any extra work is added
Check any company yourself

We don't vet or license anyone. These are the official lookups; each takes about a minute.

WhatWhereWhat it shows
Oregon CCB licenseCCB license searchActive status, bond, insurance on file, complaints
Oregon LCB licenseLCB verify a licenseLandscape contracting license, which covers tree work
Washington contractor registrationL&I VerifyRegistration, bond, workers' comp, lawsuits, violations
ISA Certified ArboristISA directoryCurrent certification and credential number

How to read them: Oregon guide · Washington guide

Check any company yourself

We don't vet or license anyone. These are the official lookups; each takes about a minute.

WhatWhereWhat it shows
Oregon CCB licenseCCB license searchActive status, bond, insurance on file, complaints
Oregon LCB licenseLCB verify a licenseLandscape contracting license, which covers tree work
Washington contractor registrationL&I VerifyRegistration, bond, workers' comp, lawsuits, violations
ISA Certified ArboristISA directoryCurrent certification and credential number

How to read them: Oregon guide · Washington guide

Westcoast-Tree.org is an independent information site. If you call a number on this site, the call goes to a tree service that covers your area and we may be paid a referral fee by that company. We don't perform tree work and we don't vet, license or insure anyone. Cost figures are modeled estimates, not quotes (method). Not affiliated with the former Westcoast Tree Care Inc of Tumwater, WA.

Call for a local estimate(877) 720-7431